Colette Meringue – the scalloped hem

20120313-084807.jpg

As I have mentioned previously, my choice of fabric for this skirt has made it more complicated than it need have been. These photos show the process of creating the scalloped hem. Because the fabric doesn’t have any natural stiffness, I needed to top stitch all the way around the hem, around 5mm from the edge, to help it keep the shape.

I wore my new skirt twice last week and love it, although I am conscious of the additional thickness around the waist, which was in hindsight not needed. But I do love it. Hope to put finished photos up this week.

Leave a Reply

